How many of you blog on a team, or have two or more friends managing a blog, sharing the same AdSense account for making money from your blog, and using a single AdSense login ID to see the stats? Here is some good news for all such users who share their AdSense account with someone else:
The AdSense team has added a multiple users option, which will allow you to give other users access your AdSense account.
AdSense multiple users feature:
This new AdSense feature will allow you to add any non-existing AdSense users to manage your AdSense account. Currently, there are only two levels of user permissions that can be granted: admin and standard users.
When you add a new user to manage/access your AdSense account with admin rights, he can do the following things:
- Edit and manage any part of the account.
- Add or remove users
- See the list of users who have access to your AdSense account
Standard AdSense users cannot see the list of users who have access to your AdSense account, and they cannot add or remove any existing users. These abilities can be useful when you want to give someone access to your AdSense account with limited permissions.
There are, however, many limitations to a multiple-user AdSense account, such as the following:
- You cannot add a user with an existing AdSense account
- You cannot add a user whose AdSense application was rejected in the past
- If you invite a Google Apps user, AdSense should be enabled from the dashboard
How to invite other users to use your AdSense account:
Following is a quick tutorial which you can follow to invite other users to use your AdSense account, should you wish to do so.
Log in to your AdSense account and click on “account settings” in the sidebar on the left. Scroll down to the bottom, and there you will see the option “Users with sign-in access (beta)“. There you can add the email address of another user, and send an invitation to that person. The invited user will have 30 days to accept your invitation, after which that invitation will expire.
If you try to invite a user with an existing AdSense account or a previously rejected AdSense account, you will get a message saying “The email address is currently being used by an existing AdSense account.”
Once a user has been invited and has accepted, you can give admin rights to that user by checking the “Administrator” box.
This can be a very handy feature, but I suggest you use it carefully, and invite only users whom you trust implicitly.
The AdSense team will also send you an email when the new user is added to your account, or when any user’s access level is changed. This is very useful to ensure the security of your AdSense account.
Another great use of this feature is when changing your AdSense login email. If you have been looking for a way to change your AdSense login email, you can easily do this by following these simple steps:
- Send an invitation to the email ID you want to use for login
- Give admin rights to the invited email ID
- Accept the invitation, and login using the invited ID
- Remove your old AdSense email, and from here forward you can use your new login
Here are a list of FAQ’s related to the new multi-user AdSense feature.
I would love to know your views on this handy new feature made available by the AdSense team.
Where you are an existing AdSense user or a newcomer to AdSense, you should check out our excellent AdSense guide.