34 responses

  1. Surender Sharma
    August 18, 2009

    Hostgator is one of the best hosting provider.I am using since 2007 for my multi sites.I am using Baby package and it is the best and cheap.

    • Harsh Agrawal
      August 19, 2009

      I heard so many great reviews about Hostgator, but I started with Dreamhost and it is also great. Though I also wanted to try other web hosting as well, so I set up with Hostgator baby plan and I’m glad to have them with me :)

  2. BAs
    August 18, 2009

    Hmmm, list of features is really interesting. But your site will often go down even if you have only 5000-6000 pagevies/day. I have seen this problem with many Webmasters. So do chk before moving to hostgator.

    • Harsh Agrawal
      August 18, 2009

      Bas, That depend on many things :
      Wordpress is resource hungry and if you have not optimized your WP blog, chances are wordpress blog will go down with even 2k-3K visits a day on any shared hosting.
      I’m using Hostgator for 3 sites right now and by far I have not faced any problem.

  3. Harshad
    August 18, 2009

    hmm..interesting read.

    I’ve no plans to move to other web hosting service, as I’m happy with my current webhosting. However, in the future, I might consider dreamhost as well as hostgator for webhosting options.

    • Harsh Agrawal
      August 19, 2009

      Harshad I have my personal experience with Dreamhost and Hostgator.Both the web hosting are worth considering..

  4. Ahad Bokhari
    August 18, 2009

    Haven’t used host gator but for shared env’s i use bluehost – Havent had any problems with that so far EXCEPT for Ruby on Rails applications (go figure).

    • Harsh Agrawal
      August 19, 2009

      Ahad I never heard any bad review about bluehost also. Though you can match the features provided by both the web hosting and get one according to your need.

  5. The Gooroo
    August 18, 2009

    I use HostGator, and have been really happy. Never experienced down time!

    • Harsh Agrawal
      August 19, 2009

      It will be too early for me to comment on down time but from all other review I have got they are excellent with uptime and you have again voted for the same. Thanks for the input :)

  6. Doug Dillard
    August 19, 2009

    Great review! We use several hosting companies, but Hostgator is our favorite. We are planning to eventually move all our sites over to Hostgator, but it is a lot of work and takes a bit of time. Hostgator is good about helping with the transfers too!

    • Harsh Agrawal
      August 19, 2009

      Thanks for your Input Doug. One more good thing about Hostgator is free blog migration service. Though only one migration is free and that too within one month.
      Though when I was talking to live chat support, they offered my two blog migration if I buy there reseller plan. I find it too early to invest on something. So I went with baby one and I can say I’m a happy Host gator customer.

  7. Brian D. Hawkins
    August 19, 2009

    I’ve been using a HostGator dedicated server for over a year and I have no complaints. It’s been running very smooth and I have many sites on there including an ad tracking site that gets almost a hundred thousand hits a month and around twenty four thousand tracking link hits a day. It’s an older script that tends to put a strain on servers yet mine with HostGator handles it perfectly.

  8. Paritosh
    August 19, 2009

    Some of the free hosting companies are worth trying but eventually you will face problems with them. I was using one such free hosting service and was relatively happy with it but because of some serious problems like delay in email notifications, timeout errors, inability to update wordpress from within the dashboard, etc i had to go for paid hosting.

  9. Atul
    August 20, 2009

    One question:
    If you are already having ur account with dreamhost then why u have paid for hostgator?
    And I didnt get this line too hosting for Hostgator because going to start min eown webhosting company
    .-= Atul ´s last blog ..Funny Lines =-.

  10. George
    August 20, 2009

    Even I was using a Delhi based hosting company for my single blog.I faced a lot of troubles during last few months.Now I am on Hostgator.They are one of the best.I did not even face any down time and they done everything except updating name servers.I am happy by the experience.

  11. smartin
    August 21, 2009

    Though the plans looks similar ,I guess the higher plans are hosted on more powerful servers . If you are using Hostgator monthly plans ,use code hgc25 . You will get Baby plan at .01$ for the first month. Monthly plans on Hostgator shared hosting doesn’t have a set up fee like that in Dreamhost or Bluehost .
    .-= smartin ´s last blog ..I don™t have time to write this blog =-.

  12. Udegbunam Chukwudi
    August 27, 2009

    I’ve been with hosgator for almost a year now and each time I think of leaving cos of the cost, I remember HOW EXCELLENT their services have been and I just smile to myself and do away with the thought.
    Hostgator is just amazing.

  13. Bilal
    September 27, 2009

    Hello Harsh i want to start only one wordpress blog with hostgator, should i go for Hatchling : Perfect for single blog (4.95$/mo)
    OR not
    Please guide me.
    Thank you

    • Harsh Agrawal
      September 27, 2009

      Hi
      if its only one wordpress blog its hatchling plan will be good enough to take care of your requirements.
      If you wish you can use my aff. link http://www.shoutmeloud.com/recommended/Hostgator/

      and coupon code ShoutMeLoud25 to get maximum discount.

  14. Mayur
    October 28, 2009

    Me too moved my blog to Hostgator in Sep,09 (opted for Baby plan). They are really awesome at work and 24×7 support. The best part is their Live chat support.
    I surely recommend HostGator :D

  15. monitor
    June 13, 2010

    I have been using HostGator for several months, and have been very happy with them. The great thing is that Hostgator Support by chat is available every day, 24/7. And they are actually helpful!

  16. Bilal Bhatti
    August 13, 2010

    Yup! It’s still the best hosting with best support! One more thing i would like to tell you people is that if your WP blog gets hacked and someone deletes your database and you have no backup of your DB, its the hostgator which still provides you the backup of your DB but with nominal charges! They backup DBs of all of their hosted sites on every Monday night!

  17. Nile
    October 22, 2010

    I have been using HostGator as a dedicated server client since 2006. I even resell hosting for a little over a $1/ per month (or 25/ year for 5GB diskspace and 25GB bandwidth, more than enough for blog starters. )

    Now, my understanding with their shared clients is they have the branded Host Gator cpanel, but there are not many differences other than the change in the cpanel branding from shared to reseller, or even dedicated.

    They have been great on support when anything comes up and tackle issues within the hour I submit a ticket. I am not sure if the ticket support is better for shared clients, but for those who are dedicated clients or looking to become a dedicated client with HostGator, I recommend it.

  18. Egil
    November 18, 2010

    I have 3 times sought help with Host Gator live chat. It was different times of the day, and I had to wait in line for a few minutes. But I could at all times see how many people were there in front of me, and the waiting time did not really exceed even 3 minutes.

    All those times, I spoke to a professional consultant and my problems were solved.

    When there is a more serious issue that cannot be solved within one chat session, they have a ticket system which means that you exchange mails with their staff until your issue is solved.

    Since I signed up in August 2009, I have never noticed my site being down.

    It is also easy to register a domain with them. They accept both pay-pal and bank card payments. The domains though are a little more expensive than if you buy them e.g. at NameCheap.

    Really satisfied. Highly recommend as a reliable hosting at a reasonable price.

  19. Shayari
    February 22, 2011

    Thanks for this information Harsh but can in I have a problem .My blog is hosted at the another hosting company that is so costaly to me .Now i want to change .Can I Host my site to this company wit all mysql data .How can i do this

    • Harsh Agrawal
      February 28, 2011

      Shayeri you can contact me via service page and I will help you with migration. Of-course this service will be free with a small catch :)

  20. Sean
    January 31, 2012

    I was curious to check the performance of baby plan. Thankyou for information and screenshots

  21. piyush
    July 11, 2012

    how to add new domains in hostgator bussiness plan???n how we will manage our bandwidth in that??

  22. Gagan Arora
    July 30, 2012

    these days i heard may security issue from Go daddy …..many website host on Go daddy hacked by hackers….so i think hostgator is good option for hosting….i never heard and complaint of Hostgator…

  23. Anoop
    February 20, 2013

    Hi Harsh,

    I planning to host my new site on Hostgator. I need your opinion about the domain registration.When I checked,Hostgator charging more(15$) for domain registration compared to other provider(includng shoutmydomain).

    As per you, do I need to go with Hostgator domain registration or can I go with other domain registration ? and If I go with other domain registrar, Is it easy to configure that domain name along with hostgator hosting service

    • Harsh Agrawal
      February 20, 2013

      @Anoop
      Yes, you asked the right question. It’s a good idea to buy domain from other places like Godaddy, ShoutMydomain and then change the name server to Hostgator. Which is very easy. When you sign up for hostgator, you will get two Name servers, and all you need to do is, login to your domain panel and update the name server, which is very easy to do…

  24. Rushi
    March 9, 2013

    @ harsh,
    I am planning to change my hosting. Need your help bro.

    Going thru this article portrays hostgator has best shared hosting service on planet (baby plan).
    at same time you shares your horrible expericence with them coz of SSL and finally u moved on to knownhost. (in other post)
    Getting deaper into, just read HG’s flat policy that you are not allowed to use commentLuv, coz it caused some prb to their servers. (not on SML)

    Just to know about best option for shared hosting, i went thru almost all articles i could find via goodle on SML. Coz u share your personal expericences with different hostings it makes me more worried. Having very bad time with Godadd :(

    I’ll be thankful to you if u guide me thru.

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top
mobile desktop