469911c096ed4b138c7b14b6334af3e5

Ebay.in Seller Crosses Heights of Software Piracy?

by Rajat Kumar on May 21, 2010

in Tech & world news

Yesterday I was looking for a few software titles at Ebay India and guess what I came across. An Ebay seller from Pune who has for sale a software bundle whose price is upwards of $4000. He is selling it for around 5,000 INR. Do you think he has an authentic license bundle or just pirated copies?

Here’s the list of a few software titles the seller has listed along with their estimated worth.

  • Windows 7 – $125
  • Office 2010 – $150
  • Adobe cs4 master – $2099
  • Visual studio 2010 – $550
  • Roxio creator 2009 – $99
  • Dragon naturally speaking – $99
  • Windows XP SP3 – $190
  • System Mechanic pro – $69
  • Vista ultimate – $399
  • Nero 9 – $99
  • Powerdvd – $99

TOTAL WORTH = $3843

Update: The seller is also providing a storage device. It’s a Kingston 32GB USB flash drive worth $80. So, the software apparently comes free with the purchase of the device.

Moreover, these are only few of the many software titles that exist in the given bundle.

I have reported the ebay team about the same and they should verify the authenticity of the sale and act likewise soon. I’m sure this is going to feature on the homepage if authentic. :)

Am I doing the right thing?
As a blogger I’m just bringing to light whatever I came across. All I’m interested in is whether the listing is fake or not. I also mailed the seller, but am yet to receive a response from him. So what next? If it’s illegal and thus violates ebay’s policy they will themselves delete the listing. If not I’d be the first one to go and make a purchase. I have purchased a good number of licenses from ebay in the past including that of Antivirus software and Rapidshare points. This is an effort to make everyone aware and make sure that no one falls prey to illegal and fraud transactions. Of course, Paisapay is a boon for all buyers as it guarantees refund against purchase.

What do you think about this piracy?

Go check out the sale listing for yourself here.

So what do you think? Is it possible for someone to sell authentic software of so much worth at such a low price? Do you think it’s fake/piracy too? If not, do you see this as a golden opportunity to grab so many titles for so less?

Related posts:

  1. Gmail add Extra layer of Security For Paypal and EBay
  2. Participate and win $700 worth SEO software
  3. Keep your self secure from ebay password scam
  4. iPad Verdict
  5. Top 10 most expensive domain names ever sold
  6. Snag it: Professional Image editing and screenshot software For bloggers
  7. Apple iPhone 4 Price, Specifications and Launch date India
  8. Atsrill VPN Software: Unblock Any Website: Beta Invites Giveaway

Do you like this story?

Wpfreelancer

{ 17 comments… read them below or add one }

1 S.Pradeep Kumar May 21, 2010 at 19:04

I really appreciate your concern Rajat. Three cheers for that!

I think they are not authentic for sure. Such low prices and so many titles, Ooh! :)

Reply

2 NpXp May 23, 2010 at 18:14

It happens all the time :p

Reply

3 Mayur Somani May 21, 2010 at 19:42

Funny that the email id of the seller is backdoor1.0@gmail.com. I wonder if he has also bundled some backdoors with the software for free ;)

Reply

4 Rajat Kumar May 21, 2010 at 23:40

you have a point Mayur

Reply

5 Samir May 21, 2010 at 19:53

Selling such bundles privately is itself dangerous. Just what stuff is the seller made of?! What ebay would do is a different matter. Just think of what Microsoft and Adobe could do to that guy!

Reply

6 Samir May 21, 2010 at 19:55

Oh yes! why would someone buy Windows7 for $125 and Windows XP for $190?!

Reply

7 Rajat Kumar May 21, 2010 at 23:43

i’ll explain that to you. here’s how Samir. Windows XP has just two variants home and pro while windows vista and 7 had more. the seller has not mentioned the version so i have only estimated the prices for the common version as my software vendor advised me.

Reply

8 Mahesh May 21, 2010 at 20:25

The seller’s going to be in a big trouble!

Reply

9 Rahul May 21, 2010 at 21:12

Already these things available for free. And is selling. Probably peoples will buy windows 7. Because it is not easily available. But windows 7 is available in 7-10k

Reply

10 Siddanth May 21, 2010 at 23:45

I don’t recommend promoting piracy by downloadin from warez sites. ;)

Reply

11 Rajat Kumar May 21, 2010 at 23:47

I agree Rahul but you can easily find authentic windows 7 license for around 10k on ebay itself.

Reply

12 Rakesh Narang May 21, 2010 at 22:36

Hey Rajat,

thanks for informing us all, well, the answer is obvious and everyone knows that it is a scam deal. All softs will be pirated, they will work but there is no way in this universe that you can get these for such low costs, i mean c’mon, a loss $3800+ is like unimaginable…

so…

Reply

13 Rajat Kumar May 21, 2010 at 23:48

you’re welcome. as for the loss i agree. yet to get a word from the seller.

Reply

14 Siddanth May 21, 2010 at 23:38

Looks like its pirated to me … ebay itrader is also 0 if he was a genuine seller he would have sold so many items for sure… fishy…

Reply

15 Sonu May 22, 2010 at 05:21

lol .. ((-:

BTW MS Win 7′s bulk dealers price tag starts from Just $47 (-:

but still it can’t beat this eBay listing ((-:

Reply

16 Avi Singh May 23, 2010 at 14:52

Ha ha……If Ebay doesn’t delete this listing then I’d be the second one to purchase this set of softwares…… :)

Reply

17 Rajat May 23, 2010 at 23:18

sure you’ll have more followers

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

ShoutMeLoud on Twitter ShoutMeLoud on Facebook ShoutMeLoud RSS Feed